MUSIC & CONCERTS: MANILA – MYX Music Awards celebrates 13th year at the Big Dome

The Philippines’ hottest hit makers and music video creators will be honed by the country’s number one music channel MYX in the 13th MYX Music Awards, now made even bigger with the MYX Squadfest, happening for the first time at the Araneta Coliseum on May 15.


Hosted by the MYX Squad—VJs Ai dela Cruz, Robi Domingo, Donny, Sunny, Sharlene San Pedro, Turs Daza, and Iñigo Pascual, the MYX Music Awards welcomes on stage performances from OPM icons and breakouts acts, which include Angeline Quinto, Elmo Magalona, Erik Santos, Ex Battalion, Gloc-9, Janella Salvador, Karylle, Kiana Valenciano, Klarisse de Guzman, Kyla, KZ Tandingan, Morissette, Shanti Dope, Yael Yuzon, Yeng Constantino, Ylona Garcia, and other surprise guests.

The festivities will also kick off with the MYX Squadfest, a concert showcasing the hottest young artists on the verge of chart-topping success. These include rising performers such as BoybandPH, Claudia Barretto, Fern, Hashtags, Isabela Vinzon, Jeremy Glinoga, Kisses Delavin, Kyle Echarri, Maris Racal, Maymay Entrata, Tala, and Tony Labrusca.


A total of 17 MYX Music Awards will be given in different categories plus the MYX Magna Award, which will be accorded to an industry icon who has a tremendous contribution in the local music scene. Last year, it was producer Vic Del Rosario Jr. who was honored with the special recognition. Previous MYX Magna awardees include Ogie Alcasid, Sharon Cuneta, Gary Valenciano, and Lea Salonga.

This year, James Reid, Jona, and Sarah Geronimo lead the competition, having been nominated for five categories each, including Song of the Year.

Following are KZ, Moira dela Torre, and last year’s Artist of Year Darren Espanto with four nominations each.

Fans may still vote for their favorites through until May 8 at 11:59 p.m.. MYX Music Award winners will be chosen from 60 percent fan votes and 40 percent artist votes.

Catch the #MYXMusicAwards2018 winning moments live at the Araneta Coliseum on May 15. Tickets are priced at Php 1,275 for VIP, Php1,060 for Patron A, Php 850 for Patron B, Php 530 for Box, and Php 160 for Gen Ad. /sted May 03, 2018 at 06:10 pm by Manila Standard Showbitz

It's only fair to share...Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someonePrint this page