Manila : 10th Asean Business Awards on

President Duterte to businessmen: Embrace MSMEs in your supply chain


MANILA, Philippines — Today, the biggest ASEAN Business Awards to be staged will be unveiled by the ASEAN Business Advisory Council, led by its current chair Joey Concepcion, in the grandest celebration yet in its 10th year history.

A total of 47 awardees lead 68 finalists and will be welcomed at the Solaire Grand Ballroom entrance with a mural reminiscent of Fernando Amorsolo’s style. Special guests will sign the commemorative artwork featuring ASEAN50 and ASEAN Business Advisory marks within the mural.

The guests make up a virtual Forbes list of Asian business leaders as well as the most interesting women, youthful and innovative entrepreneurs. A good number of government officials and members of the diplomatic corps will be in attendance, along with the ASEAN economic ministers led by Trade Secretary Ramon Lopez who will be honored by the council.


More than 900 guests with 400 delegates flying in from all over Asia will witness the biggest awarding ceremony in ASEAN.  Among the business greats expected will be John Gokongwei (JG Summit Philippines), Wee Cho Yaw (United Overseas Bank Singapore), Goh Peng Ooi (Silverlake Axis Malaysia), Jaime Zobel de Ayala (Ayala Philippines), Tony Fernandes (Air Asia Malaysia), Dennis Uy (Chelsea Logistics Philippines, George Barcelon (Philippine Chamber of Commerce Chair) and Teresita Sy Coson (SM Investments Philippines), the latter two also incumbent members of the council representing the Philippines.

Since 2007, there have been a total of 122 recipients of the ASEAN Business Award, with 37 recognized last year at Vientiane, Laos. This year, in accordance with the Philippines’ chairmanship of the regional bloc’s 50th year, the ASEAN-BAC, led by current chair Joey Concepcion, with the support of ASEAN-BAC–Philippines members Tessie Sy-Coson (SM Group) and George Barcelon (PCCI), unveils the biggest batch of ASEAN Business Awardees and introduces three new categories namely the Most Promising, Inclusive Business, and Legacy Awards.

The Most Promising Award is given to five companies from the CMLV+ area which exhibit great potential to becoming business leaders in their developing nation. The Inclusive Business Award is given to the enterprise that has an exemplary business model geared towards serving or incorporating low-lying communities into their supply chain. Finally, the Legacy Award is accorded to an iconic entrepreneur of each ASEAN Member State who sets the standard of excellence in doing business and proves to be integral to the advancement of entrepreneurship in the ASEAN region.

Aside from the new categories, the rest of the 2017 batch of awardees will hail from the categories of: SME Excellence, Priority Integration Sectors (PIS), Young Entrepreneur of the Year, and the Woman Entrepreneur of the Year

The ASEAN Business awards continues to bring to the spotlight the promising and outstanding ASEAN companies that have potential of becoming global economic players. Attended yearly by the top business players in the region and beyond, the awards continue to propagate progress and business leadership. The list of winners and finalists may be viewed on and



NOTE : All photographs, news, editorials, opinions, information, data, others have been taken from the Internet | [email protected] |

For comments, Email to : [email protected] – Contributor

It's only fair to share...Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someonePrint this page